Kayak Roof Rack Reviews

April 29, 2017
One-person loading and

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by by Marney99 So far so good Easy to install. Only have had it for a week, but seems sturdy. September 29, 2015

Rated 5 out of 5 by LockportKayaker Perfect for our kayaks This product was familiar to us since our neighbors have the exact same kayak holders. They are easy to install and keep the kayaks stable, even on long road trips. July 7, 2015

Rated 1 out of 5 by Paddler Nonexistent customer support I like the easy installation, and the quality looks pretty sturdy. We used it with a large 2-person kayak, about 13 feet and 65 pounds, that's within the specifications. We immediately noticed the kayak felt like a sail on top of our SUV, with lots of movement and noise event though everything was tightened to the point of starting to deform the kayak. On the return trip, the front cradle snapped and collapsed where the J-shaped metal pipe bends upward, and the kayak came half loose at about 55mph. Thule's customer support may be the worst I've ever experienced. There is no phone number to reach anyone, so e-mail is the only possible communication. After sending them warranty information and pictures of the damage, the representative said they were sending a replacement. Nothing was ever sent. The rest of our e-mails were ignored. Months later, we found a supervisor to e-mail who said she'd send out a replacement. Again, they sent nothing. Infuriating. I would not recommend using this cradle with anything more than a small or mid-size kayak, and if you ever have trouble, you're on your own. June 21, 2015

Rated 5 out of 5 by Debb Awesome 2nd set!!! They fix my Yakama bars and stay pretty sturdy. December 4, 2014

Rated 3 out of 5 by Bob Not like they use to make This is basically the same carrier I bought 10 years ago except it is made cheaper. The main problem I've encountered is that the foam rubber that the kayak sits on is not covered with fabric to protect the foam. So after the first use the foam started to tear. They should have kept the fabrication the same as 10 years ago. Other than that, works fine. September 22, 2014

Rated 5 out of 5 by sherry great kayak holder bought this for my daughter. She loves it. Holds the kayak really well July 11, 2014

Rated 1 out of 5 by Farlo Damaged My Yukon XL The third time I used my Thule model 815 Kayak Cradle I used it on the highway. I installed it according to the instructions, hand tightening the knobs that hold the J Cradle to the factory cross bars. My kayak is an Old Town Dirigo 120, is is 50 lbs., well below the 75 lb. limit. The kayak traveled well the 30 miles to my river destination, but 5 miles into the return trip the J Cradle slid toward the middle of the crossbar causing it to bend up. The line tied to my bumper was the only reason there was not more damage. I cannot recommend this product. June 24, 2014

Source: www.dickssportinggoods.com
RELATED VIDEO
Malone SeaWing Kayak Roof Rack Attachment
Malone SeaWing Kayak Roof Rack Attachment
SportRack ABR511 J-Stacker Kayak Rack Review Video
SportRack ABR511 J-Stacker Kayak Rack Review Video ...
Review of the SportRack Post-Style Roof Mount Kayak
Review of the SportRack Post-Style Roof Mount Kayak ...
RELATED FACTS
Share this Post